IHSAA News Release

December 13, 2010

The IHSAA Executive Committee has approved a five-year contract extension calling for Terre Haute’s LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course to continue as host for the cross country state finals. The decision was made during the group’s monthly meeting this morning in Indianapolis.

One year remains on the current contract and the five-year extension designates the course as the host site through 2016. The 5,000 meter course, known as one of the most spectator-friendly distance courses in the world, has hosted the IHSAA boys and girls state meets since 2004 and the NCAA Div. I Mens and Womens Championships in eight of the last nine years.

“The city of Terre Haute and Terre Haute North Vigo High School have served as tremendous hosts for the cross country state finals since we began going there six years ago,” said IHSAA Commissioner Blake Ress. “They’ve gone above and beyond to make this event a fitting end to the cross country season and we look forward to extending our relationship with them in the coming years.”




Six incumbents were re-elected and two others selected for the first time summarize the results of the 2010 Board of Directors election which were approved by the Indiana High School Athletic Association this morning.

Re-elected to serve a three-year term beginning July 1, 2011 were:
·    Debb Stevens, Athletic Director, Caston High School – District I, Class A
·    Geoff Penrod, Athletic Director, Columbia City High School – District I, Class 3A
·    Jim Diagostino, Principal, Tri-West Hendricks High School – District II, Class 2A
·    Phil Ford, Principal, Jay County High School – District II, Class 4A
·    Jed Jerrels, Principal North Daviess High School – District III, Class A
·    Mike Whitten, Principal, Boonville High School – District III, Class 3A

Winning seats on the Board and beginning three-year terms on July 1, 2011 were:
·    Deborah Watson, Principal, Fort Wayne Snider High School – Northern District, Minority Seat
·    Victor Bush, City Athletic Director, Indianapolis Public Schools – Southern District, Minority Seat

Bush fills the vacant seat left by Cripus Attucks Principal Robert Faulkens’ appointment as Assistant Commissioner announced in October.

The Board of Directors election is conducted annually from Dec. 1-10 by electronic mail vote with ballots cast by each member school principal for candidates within their respective district.

The Board is comprised of 19 seats which are filled by administrators or full-time teachers of grade nine or above from a member school in good standing or central office. Twelve board seats are filled by any qualified individual (open seats) from each of the three legislative districts, and six board seats are filled by two qualified female representatives, two qualified minorities, two qualified urban school representatives from the northern and southern districts and one private school representative. It is the duty of the Board of Directors to establish the rules and By-Laws of the Association.

Each Board member also serves on the Executive Committee which meets monthly and is responsible for regulating and controlling all athletic contests between and among member schools, conducting state tournaments sponsored by the IHSAA, determining penalties and forfeitures for violations of the By-Laws, and giving interpretations of the rules and By-Laws of the Association.




The Indianapolis Colts will be honoring 24 high school student-athletes this Sunday, December 19 at 8:30 a.m. in Meeting Rooms 8 and 9 in Lucas Oil Stadium (this is the northeast corner of the stadium adjacent to the corner of Capitol and South Streets). 

In conjunction with the Indiana High School Athletic Association and the Indiana Football Coaches Association, the Colts will cite 24 outstanding student-athletes with an award called the 2010 Indiana High School Academic All-Stars.

Link to today’s Colts News Release

2010 Indiana High School Academic All-Stars

Pos. Name, High School
OL Blake Dunshee, Zionsville
OL Ryan Mughmaw, Oak Hill
OL Jackson Branson, Madison-Grant
OL Jordan Leising, Bluffton
OL Michael Furfaro, Mishawaka
TE Matthew Nagy, Brebeuf Jesuit
WR Kendall Griffin, Avon
WR Clint Romines, Woodlan
RB Darin Hochstetler, Fairfield
QB Jason Stemple, Mt. Vernon
QB Kyle Hartson, LaPorte
PK Neil Miller, Wabash

Pos. Name, High School
DL Alex Hegg, Seeger
DL Clint Davis, Ft. Wayne North Side
DL Spencer Murphy, North Miami
DL Daniel Dalton, Wood Memorial
LB Calvin Eads, Plymouth
LB Brad Qualizza, Crown Point
LB Kyle Patton, West Lafayette
DB Devon Hudson, South Decatur
DB Scott McKibben, Lakeland
DB Ben Townsend, Blackford
DB Tyler Simmons, Kankakee Valley
P Miles Stacey, TC Howe Academy




The following lists of statistical leaders are compiled by VarVee.com, the IHSAA’s official statistics gathering partner. The IHSAA encourages each of its member schools to participate by registering at www.varvee.com and updating statistics by each Monday through the end of the season.

Girls Swimming & Diving: State Leaders
Boys Swimming & Diving: State Leaders
Wrestling: State Leaders
Girls Basketball: State Leaders
Boys Basketball: State Leaders





Top-ranked Ben Davis won its fourth straight Marion County tournament championship in girls basketball on Saturday with a 48-23 win over Perry Meridian. The win extended the Giants’ state record streak to 67 consecutive victories under coach Stan Benge who also recorded his 500th victory as coach on Nov. 26. Currently 9-0 this season, the two-time defending 4A state champions haven’t lost since a 56-45 defeat to Carmel in the regional championship game on Feb. 16, 2008.

Peru head wrestling coach Andy Hobbs earned his 300th career victory during the Peru Super 8 Duals on Nov. 29. He is in his 16th season at the helm of the Peru program.

Warsaw senior point guard Nic Moore, battling the effects of the flu, shattered a school record with 50 points on Dec. 3 in a 90-72 win over Fort Wayne South Side. An Illinois State recruit, Moore was 16-for-24 from the field, 6-for-10 from the 3-point line and made all 12 of his free throws. He scored 23 points in the first half and 27 in the second, breaking the Warsaw record of 49 points scored by Mike Niles in 1965.

The Evansville Vanderburgh Board of School Trustees approved the hiring of Andy Owen, current health and physical education teacher and head football coach at Central High School, to the position as Athletic Director for the school. Owen replaces Leonard Drake who passed away in September. Owen, who graduated from Central High School, has a B.S. degree in K-12 physical education from the University of Indianapolis and an M.A. in teaching from Oakland City University.

Two Indiana cross country runners claimed two of the top five spots in Saturday's Foot Locker Cross Country Championships National Finals in San Diego. North Central junior Futsum Zeinasellassie finished second in 15:10 for 5,000 meters and Carmel senior Chris Walden took fifth in 15:22. Both garnered First Team All-America status. Lukas Verzbicas, Orland Hills, Ill., won the race in 14:59. Carroll's (Fort Wayne) James Martin earned third-team All-American distinction with a 12th-place finish in 15:27. Culver Academy senior Waverly Neer was also a third-team All-American after finishing 14th in the girls race in 17:51. Neer won the IHSAA girls state championship on Oct. 30 while Zeinasellassie won his second consecutive boys state title.


IHSAA 10-11/19