December 11, 2012

Tournament Formats Approved for Class 5A, 6A Football
Two format recommendations for the new Class 5A and 6A football state tournaments were approved today at the monthly meeting of the IHSAA Executive Committee.

Those provisions included the creation of eight, four-team sectionals in each class along with a bye week for the two teams competing in each state championship game during the traditional semi-state week. Both were unanimously passed by the 16-member committee.

The tournament formats and dates for Class A through 4A remain unchanged.

In recent weeks, the IHSAA surveyed the current 70 largest football playing schools and received 67 responses to a pair of choices. Would the school prefer a tournament structure including eight, four team sectionals or four, eight-team sectionals? Also would the school favor a bye week during the first week of the tournament series or during the traditional semi-state weekend?

The survey results strongly favored the format of eight, four team sectionals with 50 of the 67 respondents (74.6%) preferring that format.

With regard to the second question, 44 of 67 schools (65.7%) favored the 5A and 6A bye week fall during the traditional semi-state week.

The IHSAA Executive Committee approved adding a sixth class to the football state tournament during its June meeting. Class 6A will consist of the 32 largest schools while the next 32 largest will make up Class 5A. The smaller number of schools in both classes requires a five-week tournament series instead of the customary six weeks.

Certified enrollment figures to be used for classifying schools for the 2013-14 and 2014-15 school years will be released later this winter. Sectional assignments will be announced in the spring.

Football Tournament Dates

Class 5A, 6A Class A, 2A, 3A, 4A
Sectionals 10/25, 11/1 10/25, 11/1, 11/8
Regionals 11/8 11/15
Semi-States 11/15 11/22
State Championships 11/29-30 11/29-30
2014-15 Class 5A, 6A Class A, 2A, 3A, 4A
Sectionals 10/24, 10/31 10/24, 10/31, 11/7
Regionals 11/7 11/14
Semi-States 11/14 11/21
State Championships 11/28-29 11/28-29




Eight High School Administrators Elected to IHSAA Board
Four high school administrators were re-elected and four others were newly appointed to the IHSAA Board of Directors during the annual elections conducted by electronic balloting within the member schools Dec. 1-10. Each member school principal had the opportunity to vote for the candidates running for seats in their respective district. The open seats are apportioned geographically and by school size.

Re-elected to serve a new three-year term beginning July 1, 2013 were:

Deborah Watson, Principal, Fort Wayne Snider – Northern District, Minority Seat.
Janis Qualizza, Athletic Director, Merrillville – Northern District, Urban Seat.
Victor Bush, District Director of Athletics, Indianapolis Public Schools – Southern District, Minority Seats.
Paul Neidig, Deputy Chief of Staff, Evansville Vanderburgh Schools – Southern District, Urban Seat.

Two elected individuals will begin immediately filling vacancies of departed members and then serve a three-year term beginning July 1, 2013:

Rae Woolpy, Principal, Richmond – Southern District, Female Seat.
Dave Worland, Principal, Indianapolis Cathedral – Private School Seat.

One elected individual will begin immediately filling a vacancy of a departed member and then serve a two-year term beginning July 1, 2013:

Steve Cox, Principal, Beech Grove – District 2, Class 3A Seat.

Elected to serve a three-year term for the first time beginning July 1, 2013 was:

Patti McCormack, Athletic Director, Lowell – Northern District, Female Seat.

About the Board of Directors
The IHSAA is governed by its legislative body, the Board of Directors. Composed of 19 individuals elected by member school principals from three legislative districts, they serve staggered three-year terms. Twelve board seats are filled by any qualified individual (open seats), and seven board seats are filled by two qualified female representatives, two qualified minority representatives, two qualified urban school representatives and one qualified private school representative. The Board of Directors meets annually with the responsibility of establishing the Association’s By-Laws and regulations.




About the Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. (IHSAA)
Founded in 1903, the purpose of the Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. (IHSAA) is to encourage, regulate and give direction to wholesome amateur interschool athletic competition between its 410 member schools. The Association provides state championship tournament series in 20 sports, 10 for girls and 10 for boys. Approximately 160,000 student athletes participate in IHSAA sports on an annual basis.