August 1, 2012

Eighteen to Serve on IHSAA Student Advisory Committee in 2012-13
Eighteen high school student-athletes from across Indiana will begin the school year as members of the 2012-13 IHSAA Student Advisory Committee (SAC).

The SAC represents the entire IHSAA membership of 407 schools, and its structure mirrors that of the IHSAA Board of Directors in terms of classification and districts as well as female, urban schools and minority representation.

Each year, the IHSAA receives nominations from school principals on behalf of student-athletes who attended the IHSAA Student Leadership Conference in June. From that group of nominations, 20 are selected for interviews by members of the IHSAA Executive Committee, Executive Staff and returning members of the SAC. From those 20 interviews, nine are invited to join the new group.

Nine seniors return for a second year with the committee while nine juniors will take part for the first time. Among the returning seniors are Ally Stein of Hamilton Southeastern and Anthony Douglas II of South Bend Washington who were elected as president and vice-president, respectively, by their peers for the school year.

Individuals who will serve as part of this year’s committee include:

2012-13 IHSAA Student Advisory Committee

Name Grade School
Hayley Betz 11 Evansville Harrison High School
Josh Clark 12 Perry Meridian High School
Amber Cowell 11 Culver Academy
Nathan Criss 11 South Putnam High School
Anthony Douglas II (Vice-President) 12 South Bend Washington High School
Alex Dunn 12 Jay County High School
Tessa Faulkens 12 North Central High School (Indianapolis)
William Kelly 11 Lakeland High School
Shelby Merder 12 Jasper High School
Mac Norton 12 Mooresville High School
Brynn Olinger 12 Plainfield High School
Turner Perkins 11 Danville High School
Sara Slabaugh 11 Bremen High School
Ellen Smith 11 Plymouth High School
Kirsten Spangenberg 11 Boone Grove High School
Ally Stein (President) 12 Hamilton Southeastern High School
Taylor Turchi 12 North Vermillion High School
Casey Yager 11 Rushville High School

The IHSAA began sponsoring the Student Advisory Committee in 2001-02 to give the group of student-athletes hands-on experience and a voice to the IHSAA Executive Committee and staff.

The SAC meets four times annually – twice each semester – and is responsible for hosting meetings with student peers at the upcoming Fall Area Principals Meetings; assisting with the awards ceremonies at IHSAA state championship events throughout the school year and; planning and administering the annual IHSAA Student Leadership Conference in June.

Other SAC functions include the development of an IHSAA Captain’s Handbook which will be distributed to member schools this fall as well as assisting in the creation of multiple public service announcements addressing good sporting behavior which will be utilized during 2012-13 state championships events.




About the Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. (IHSAA)
Founded in 1903, the purpose of the Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. (IHSAA) is to encourage, regulate and give direction to wholesome amateur interschool athletic competition between its 408 member schools. The Association provides state championship tournament series in 20 sports, 10 for girls and 10 for boys. Approximately 160,000 student athletes participate in IHSAA sports on an annual basis.

IHSAA 12-13/3