October 9, 2013

Football State Tournament Pairings Show on Sunday
First round sectional matchups in the 41st Annual IHSAA Football State Tournament presented by the Indianapolis Colts will be announced Sunday, Oct. 13, beginning at 7 pm ET / 6 pm CT.

The state tournament pairings shows may be seen on television, heard on radio or viewed via webstream.

For the first time, the pairings show will be televised exclusively on Fox Sports Indiana (FSI), the new home of IHSAA championships. | Channel Information | The 90-minute show, which will originate live from Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, will be hosted by legendary broadcaster Jerry Baker, Kyle Neddenriep of the Indianapolis Star and Jeremiah Johnson of WXIN, Fox 59.

The following coaches are expected to appear as part of the program. Class A, Brian Crabtree (North Vermillion); Class 2A, Ott Hurrle (Indianapolis Scecina); Class 3A, Mitch Street (Hamilton Heights); Class 4A, Bob Gaddis (Columbus East); Class 5A, Bart Curtis (Mishawaka); Class 6A, Eric Moore (Center Grove).

For viewers outside of the Fox Sports Indiana coverage area, a live stream will be available at IHSAAtv.org. For those within the FSI coverage area, the stream will be available only on delayed basis later that evening.

Listeners also may tune into any of the affiliates of the IHSAA Champions Radio Network. Bob Lovell and Paul Condry will serve as hosts of that show originating from Emmis Communications on Monument Circle in downtown Indianapolis.

At approximately 8:30 pm ET / 7:30 pm CT, complete brackets will be available on IHSAA.org.




Volleyball Tournament Drawing Monday Morning
The IHSAA will conduct the blind draw for the 42nd Annual Volleyball State Tournament on Monday, Oct. 14, beginning at 8 am ET / 7 am CT. Pairings will be e-mailed to IHSAA member school athletic directors and news media and posted to IHSAA.org upon completion.

Sectional matches begin Tuesday, Oct. 22.

State Tournament




Cross Country Sectionals Tuesday
Sectional races in the 67th Annual Boys and 32nd Annual Girls Cross Country Tournaments are scheduled for 32 sites on Tuesday, October 15. Regional competition is Saturday, Oct. 19, with semi-states one week later and the state finals at the LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course in Terre Haute on Saturday, Nov. 2.

Boys and Girls Cross Country Sectionals
Date: Tuesday, October 15, 2013.
Admission: Free.
Advancement: The top 10 individuals from non‐advancing teams and the first 5 qualifying teams from each sectional shall advance to designated regionals.
Boys State Tournament | Girls State Tournament

Boys Notables

Defending Sectional Champions
Avon, Bloomington South, Borden, Carmel, Carroll (Fort Wayne), Center Grove, Columbus North, Crown Point, Evansville North, Franklin Central, Frankton, Huntington North, Lawrence North, McCutcheon, Mishawaka, Morgan Township, Muncie Central, Munster, Northridge, Perry Central, Rushville, Silver Creek, South Adams, South Dearborn, South Knox, Terre Haute South, Twin Lakes, Valparaiso, Warsaw, West Noble, Western, Zionsville.

Most Consecutive Sectional Championships
33 by Carmel (1974-2006).

Active Sectional Championship Streaks (three or more years)
7: Perry Central.
5: Carmel, Columbus North.
3: Franklin Central, Muncie Central, Perry Central, South Dearborn.

Won First Sectional Championship Last Year
Borden, Frankton, Morgan Township, South Adams, Zionsville.

Top 10 All-Time Sectional Championships
38: Carmel.
30: Bloomington South.
27: Richmond.
25: Elkhart Central.
24: Ben Davis, Columbus North.
23: Lafayette Jefferson, Portage, Terre Haute North.
22: Crown Point, Fort Wayne Northrop.


Girls Notables

Defending Sectional Champions
Avon, Bloomington South, Carmel, Carroll (Fort Wayne), Center Grove, Columbus North, Connersville, Crown Point, Eastern (Greentown), Evansville Memorial, Floyd Central, Franklin Central, Fremont, Huntington North, Indianapolis Cathedral, Jay County, Kankakee Valley, Lake Central, Northridge, Norwell, Oldenburg Academy, Pendleton Heights, Penn, Perry Central, Seeger, Silver Creek, Terre Haute North, Valparaiso, Vincennes Lincoln, Warsaw, West Lafayette, Zionsville.

Most Consecutive Sectional Championships
25 by Carmel (1981-2005).

Won First Sectional Championship Last Year
Fremont, Seeger, Zionsville.

Active Sectional Championship Streaks (three or more years)
16: Columbus North.
13: Carroll (Fort Wayne), Franklin Central.
9: Lake Central.
7: Crown Point, Jay County, Terre Haute North.
5: Evansville Memorial.
4: Eastern (Greentown), Penn.
3: Carmel, Oldenburg Academy, Valparaiso, West Lafayette.

Top 10 All-Time Sectional Championships
29: Carmel.
26: Columbus North.
21: Northridge, Penn.
20: Floyd Central, Valparaiso.
19: Lake Central.
17: Carroll (Fort Wayne).
16: Crown Point.
15: Bedford North Lawrence, Franklin Central, Terre Haute North.




About the Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. (IHSAA)
Founded in 1903, the purpose of the Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. (IHSAA) is to encourage, regulate and give direction to wholesome amateur interschool athletic competition between its 412 member schools. The Association provides state championship tournament series in 20 sports, 10 for girls and 10 for boys. Approximately 160,000 student athletes participate in IHSAA sports on an annual basis.


IHSAA 13-14/7