November 30, 2013

Columbus East holds on for wild victory over Bishop Dwenger in Class 4A
The Columbus East Olympians departed Lucas Oil Stadium with the Class 4A championship and an undefeated record in hand, but they had to survive a stirring and determined comeback by Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger.

In a game of wild momentum swings, the Olympians held on for a 28-27 victory over the Saints. Columbus East led 21-0 in the first half, saw Bishop Dwenger jump ahead with 27 unanswered points and then rescued the hard-earned victory in a memorable fourth quarter.

The Olympians' winning touchdown came with 3:42 remaining. Markell Jones, with a punishing running style, led them on a 14-play, 73-yard march. Quarterback Alex Cowan burst in from the 1-yard line for the touchdown before Paul Baker booted the winning extra point.

However, Bishop Dwenger refused to wilt and pushed to midfield after receiving the kickoff. On third down, the Saints fumbled twice on the same play and Columbus East recovered the second. A strip-sack by Brock Patterson and the fumble recovery by Tyler Campbell were the big defensive plays for the Olympians.

Coach Bob Gaddis' Columbus East squad, ranked No. 1 in both the state coaches poll and the Associated Press poll, completed the year at 15-0. The Olympians were making their first appearance in a state finals game since their 1979 team went 13-0 and won the Class 3A title.

The two teams combined for 861 total yards, a record for the Class 4A final. Jones finished with 197 yards and two touchdowns on 32 rushing attempts for the Olympians. Cowan added 142 yards and a pair of scores on 25 runs.

Bishop Dwenger quarterback Mike Fiacable completed 20-of-27 passes for 280 yards and three scores. Gus Schrader caught seven passes for 112 yards and two touchdowns.

Coach Chris Svarczkopf's Bishop Dwenger team, ranked seventh in the state coaches poll and unranked by the Associated Press, finished the season at 11-4.

 Listen: Columbus East coach Bob Gaddis comments | Bishop Dwenger coach Chris Svarczkopf comments

Class 4A Championship Game Records

Most Passing Touchdowns
(Tied) 3 by Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger vs. Columbus East, 2013.

Total Offensive Yards by Both Teams
861 by Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger (440) and Columbus East (421), 2013.

Most Fumbles Lost
(Tied) 3 by Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger vs. Columbus East, 2013.

Most Passing Touchdowns
(Tied) 3 by Mike Fiacable, Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger vs. Columbus East, 2013.

Columbus East’s Seth Frownfelter named Eskew Mental Attitude Award winner
At the conclusion of the championship game, the IHSAA Executive Committee named Seth Frownfelter of Columbus East High School as the winner of the Phil N. Eskew Mental Attitude Award in Class 4A football.

Frownfelter, a senior offensive lineman, ranks in the top 10 percent of his senior class, is a member of the National Honor Society, Spanish Honor Society and has earned an AP Scholar Award.

He’s a three-year letter winner and captain for the varsity football team and also is expected to earn his fourth letter as a member of the swimming team this season.

He is the son of Rob and Tammy Frownfelter of Hartsville, Ind. He is undecided on a college decision but plans to study pre-law and/or business.

Each year the IHSAA Executive Committee selects a senior player who was nominated by his principal and coach and was determined to have best demonstrated mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability. The award is named in honor of the IHSAA’s third commissioner from 1962-76.

The Indianapolis Colts presented a $1,000 scholarship to Columbus East High School in the name of Seth Frownfelter. The Colts have been the presenting sponsor of the entire football state tournament since 2009 and are sponsoring the Phil N. Eskew Mental Attitude Award for the first year.