Indiana High School Athletic Association

9150 North Meridian Street, Box 40650, Indianapolis, Indiana 46240-0650

Phone: 317-846-6601    Fax: 317-575-4244    Website:

Blake Ress, Commissioner


                                                                                                February 18, 2006




Mishawaka wrestlers had a banner day as three individuals laid claim to state titles during the 68th Annual IHSAA Individual Wrestling State Finals at Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.


Josh Harper, Ian Hinton and Pat Day became the first Cavemen state champs since Brad Harper won the 152 crown in 1998 and the trifecta also was the most by the school in the same year. Darrick Snyder is the Mishawaka coach.


Harper offered a glimpse of things to come by completing a perfect freshman season at 47-0. He took a 6-3 decision from Edgewood’s Chris Lindauer in the 103 match. A year after finishing as the runner-up at 171, Hinton returned to complete a 42-0 junior season following a 2-0 overtime thriller over Franklin’s Phillip Glasser. Day won the 215 class on his 12-10 decision over Cody Johnson, also of Franklin.


Day was responsible for eclipsing one of the oldest state finals records on Saturday afternoon as he pinned his semifinal opponent in just 11 seconds. The previous record of 15 seconds had been shared by Wilford Childers of Lowell in 1929 and Charles McDaniel of Bloomington in 1932.


With a 28-0 dual record, all three will compete with the rest of their teammates in next Saturday’s Team State Finals.


Bloomington South and Merrillville both had two state winners as well. Bloomington South, with its state-best 65 champions, had back-to-back winners in Kurt Kinser at 152 and Paul Young at 160.


Young (49-0) was the only one of the five returning champions to make it back to the title round and captured a 9-4 decision over Bryan Deutsch of Columbia City. Deutsch was the 152 runner-up in 2005. Kinser, the runner-up at 145 a year ago, got it done this time around, eking out a 1-0 decision from Perry Meridian’s Kevin Clem.


The 119 pound class had three returning state champions, including last year’s winner in Evansville Central’s Anthony Williams, but none advanced beyond the semis. Instead, Merrillville’s Javier Salas took home the crown pinning Norwell’s Blake Harner at 3:18. The senior finished 40-1 on the year eliminating Williams in the semifinals in an overtime decision. Ethan Harris of Beech Grove, the 2005 champ at 112, was upset in the quarterfinals losing for the first time in 77 matches. Hobart’s Eric Galka, last year’s winner at 103 lost in Friday’s first round.


Merrillville’s other win came from 275-pounder Dexter Larimore who dominated Aaron Lindenschmidt of Evansville Harrison, 12-1. The third-time was the charm for the 41-0 senior who had been the heavyweight runner-up each of the last two seasons. It was Lindenschmidt’s only loss of the year.





State Championship Match Results

103 – Josh Harper (47-0), Mishawaka (9) def. Chris Lindauer (19-2), Edgewood (11) dec. 6-3.

112 – Danny Coyne (36-1), Beech Grove (12) def. Taylor March (41-6), East Noble (9), dec. 3-1.

119 – Javier Salas (40-1), Merrillville (12) def. Blake Harner (40-2), Norwell (12), fall, 3:18.

125 – Eric McGill (46-1), Munster (11) def. Adam Walters (38-5), Portage (12), dec. 3-2.

130 – Alexander Warren (37-0), Mooresville (12) def. Dustin Bruce (37-4), Bloomington North (11), dec. 8-5.

135 – Matt Irwin (45-0), Bellmont (12) def. Brennan Cosgrove (46-2), Hobart (10) dec, 12-5.

140 – Andrew Howe (51-0), Hanover Central (10) def. Cory Fornal (46-2), Rochester (12), dec. 6-2.

145 – Chad Biddle (41-2), Portage (12) def. Cooper Samuels (45-1), Floyd Central (10), fall, 2:22.

152 – Kurt Kinser (47-0), Bloomington South (12) def. Kevin Clem (50-6), Perry Meridian (12), dec, 1-0.

160 – Paul Young (49-0), Bloomington South (12) def. Bryan Deutsch (42-2), Columbia City (12) dec, 9-4.

171 – Ian Hinton (42-0), Mishawaka (11) def. Phillip Glasser (39-5), Franklin (12), dec. 2-0 OT.

189 – Taylor Vieck (38-0), Vincennes Lincoln (12) def. Travis Dale (43-1), McCutcheon (11), dec 3-2.

215 – Pat Day (46-2), Mishawaka (12) def. Cody Johnson (44-3), Franklin (12) dec 12-10.

275 – Dexter Larimore (41-0), Merrillville (12) def. Aaron Lindenschmidt (48-1), Evansville Harrison (12), dec. 12-1.




Members of the IHSAA Executive Committee selected Jeffrey Papiernik of Fort Wayne Snider High School as the winner of the 2005-06 Ward E. Brown Mental Attitude Award for wrestling.  A four-time IHSAA individual state-qualifier, Papiernik is the first wrestler and 11th student-athlete overall from his school to earn that distinction.


Papiernik turned in his best individual state finals performance by placing fourth in the 135 pound weight class this weekend.  After earning Team MVP honors in 2004 he was selected as the captain of the Panthers this season.  He compiled a record of 43-4 and ends his career with an overall record of 154-19.


In addition to being a leader on the mats, he has had major achievements in the classroom.  He ranks first in his class of 455 students with a 4.69 GPA (4.0 Scale).  He is a member of the National Honor Society, Indiana Math League and National Society of High School Scholars.  Jeffrey was also selected to attend the “2006 Molecular Medicine in Action Conference” at IU Medical Center.  In addition to these accomplishments, he was a 2006 Wendy’s High School Heisman Nominee and selected as an Indiana University Science, Technology and Research Scholar.


“Jeff refuses to take short cuts!  He has displayed quiet leadership by example and has excelled academically, socially, and athletically,” said Fort Wayne Snider Head Wrestling Coach Michael Ester.  “He alone creates the energy and opportunity in order to better himself as a student, an athlete, and a citizen; while taking the time to share his blessings with those around him.”


His volunteer work includes peer tutoring, middle school assistant wrestling coach, science fair judge, concessions worker for high school athletic events, landscaping and various church events.


Jeffrey is the son of Andrew and Janet Papiernik of Fort Wayne and plans to attend Washington University in St. Louis and major in Molecular Biology.


The award was named in honor of the IHSAA’s fourth commissioner (1976-1983) in 1985. During his term as commissioner, the wrestling state finals experienced tremendous growth moving from Southport High School to Market Square Arena in downtown Indianapolis. Recipients of the award must be nominated by their principal and coach and must excel in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in the sport.


Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, the IHSAA corporate sponsor, presented a $1,000.00 scholarship to Fort Wayne Snider High School in the name of Papiernik.



Visit our friends at Visual Sports Network, the IHSAA’s official photographer for all state championship events and one of the leading action photographers in the Midwest. VSN, which was on site on both Friday and Saturday, has captured thousands of images from this year’s State Finals and will have them ready for viewing and purchase beginning Monday.



For t-shirts and other merchandise commemorating this year’s tournament or for any of our events, visit our friends at Morris, Inc.



Couldn’t be there for the state finals? You can still purchase a copy of the official souvenir program while supplies last! Programs are $3.00 if you purchase in person at the IHSAA Office (9150 N. Meridian Street in Indianapolis) or $5.00 by mail (postage included). To order, have your Visa or MasterCard ready and call us at 317-846-6601 during business hours (Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-4 p.m. EST).