Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc.

9150 North Meridian Street, Box 40650, Indianapolis, Indiana 46240-0650

Phone: 317-846-6601    Fax: 317-575-4244    Website:

Blake Ress, Commissioner


February 17, 2007



Hanover Central’s Andrew Howe Steals the Show

Junior Wins 152 Pound Title with Four Technical Falls over the Weekend

Wrestlers from 13 different schools were crowned state champions at the 69th Annual IHSAA Individual Wrestling State Finals at Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.


Andrew Howe of Hanover Central turned in the performance of the weekend. At 152, his four technical falls in the state finals was unprecedented. No competitor has ever achieved three technical falls let alone four. In every match Howe scored at least 20 points. In his four state finals matches he collected a staggering 91 points, with 26 coming in a dominant performance in the title match. The state championship caps off a perfect 48-0 season for Howe.


Mishawaka claimed two of the 14 title winners, the only school to have more than one state champion. Cavemen wrestlers Josh Harper won at 112 in a 7-4 decision, and Ian Hinton won at 189 by a score of 10-5. Both Harper and Hinton repeated as state champions.


Harper, a sophomore, is undefeated in two years of competition, compiling 87 wins without a loss. Hinton finishes the season undefeated with a record of 48-0. Hinton and Harper will continue their season in next Saturday’s Team State Finals.


Matt Powless of Evansville Memorial claimed the 171 title with a 6-3 decision. He finishes the season with a 51-0 record. Powless is one of nine title winners, out of the 14 weight classes, to finish the season with an unblemished record. Powless is the first ever participant from Memorial to represent the school in the state finals.


Evansville Mater Dei brought a state-best 11 wrestlers to the finals but only one made it to final round. Mishawaka was next with seven wrestlers in the state finals.


Eric McGill of Munster and Brennan Cosgrove of Hobart squared off in the finals of the 140 pound weight class. This was nothing new. The two faced each other six times this season, each winning three. In fact, their only losses this season were to each other. Their seventh and decisive meeting was for the state title, with McGill taking the crown in a close 6-5 decision.


Eric Galka won the state title in the 130 pound weight class; the Hobart junior took the 103 state title in 2005. He beat Andy St. Germain of Chesterton by a decision of 9-7.


In the first match of the championship round, in front of 9,170 fans, Anderson Highland sophomore Camden Eppert came out in a Scottish Plaid singlet. The Scot won the 103 title, and finished the season 36-1. 


State Championship Match Results

103 – Camden Eppert (36-1), Anderson Highland (10) def. Brandon Wright (46-6), Indianapolis Cathedral (9), dec. 6-3.

112 – Josh Harper (39-0), Mishawaka (10) def. Christopher Quiroga (47-2), Lawrence North (10), dec. 7-4.

119 – Matthew Fields (40-1), Whiteland (12) def. Taylor March (42-0), East Noble (10), dec. 3-0.

125 – Reece Freeman (44-0), Bloomington South (12) def. Thomas Churchard (46-2), Valparaiso (11), dec. 8-4.

130 – Eric Galka (48-0), Hobart (11) def. Andy St. Germain (44-4), Chesterton (12), dec. 9-7.

135 – Caleb Schmitt (47-1), Castle (12) def. David Zimmer (45-1), Angola (12), 3-2 Ultimate Tiebreaker.

140 – Eric McGill (43-3), Munster (12) def. Brennan Cosgrove (45-4), Hobart (11), dec. 6-5.

145 – Jamal Lawrence (45-0), Merrillville (12) def. Nick Dewig (45-1), Evansville Mater Dei (12), dec. 3-2.

152 – Andrew Howe (48-0), Hanover Central (11) def. Chris Dean (45-2), Northview (12), Technical Fall, 26-9, 6:00.

160 – Cooper Samuels (35-1), Floyd Central (11) def. Phillip Oudhuis (41-2), New Prairie (12), Fall, 1:22.

171 – Matt Powless (51-0), Evansville Memorial (12) def. Frank Troiano (50-2), Indianapolis Cathedral (12), dec. 6-3.

189 – Ian Hinton (48-0), Mishawaka (12) def. Chad Friend (40-1), Leo (12) dec. 10-5.

215 – George Malone (46-0), South Bend Riley (11) def. Luke Watkins (16-1), North Central (Indianapolis) (12), dec 3-1.

285 – Chico Adams (53-0), Perry Meridian (11) def. Derek Traversa (37-2), Glenn (12), Fall 2:50.




Members of the IHSAA Executive Committee selected David Zimmer of Angola High School as the winner of the 2006-07 Ward E. Brown Mental Attitude Award for wrestling.


The award was named in honor of the IHSAA’s fourth commissioner (1976-1983) in 1985. During his term as commissioner, the wrestling state finals experienced tremendous growth moving from Southport High School to Market Square Arena in downtown Indianapolis. Recipients of the award must be nominated by their principal and coach and must excel in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in the sport.


In his fourth straight trip to the state finals, Zimmer finished as the 135 pound state runner-up falling 3-2 in an ultimate tiebreaker. It was his only loss of the year in 46 matches.


He currently ranks second in his class of 170 students. He is the senior class president, a member of the student council and a member of the National Honor Society. He has served as president the last three years for FIST (Forever Improving Steuben (County) Together), a community service youth team representing all the high schools in Steuben County. He also participates in 4-H and serves as a mentor for Big Brothers-Big Sisters.


He was recently named to the Academic All-State First Team in wrestling. Zimmer also plays football and baseball for the school.


He becomes just the second student-athlete from Angola to win an IHSAA mental attitude award joining gymnast Carrie Best who won in 2002. He is the son of Matthew and Susan Zimmer of Angola.


Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, the IHSAA corporate sponsor, presented a $1,000.00 scholarship to Angola High School in the name of Zimmer.



Visit our friends at Visual Sports Network, the IHSAA’s official photographer for all state championship events and one of the leading action photographers in the Midwest. VSN, which was on site on both Friday and Saturday, has captured thousands of images from this year’s State Finals and will have them ready for viewing and purchase beginning Monday.



For t-shirts and other merchandise commemorating this year’s tournament or for any of our events, visit our friends at Morris, Inc.



Couldn’t be there for the state finals? You can still purchase a copy of the official souvenir program while supplies last! Programs are $3.00 if you purchase in person at the IHSAA Office (9150 N. Meridian Street in Indianapolis) or $5.00 by mail (postage included). To order, have your Visa or MasterCard ready and call us at 317-846-6601 during business hours (Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-4 p.m. EST).