Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc.

9150 North Meridian Street, Box 40650, Indianapolis, Indiana 46240-0650

Phone: 317-846-6601    Fax: 317-575-4244    Website:

Blake Ress, Commissioner


February 16, 2008



Senior Andrew Howe of Hanover Central and Mishawaka junior Josh Harper both won their third consecutive state championship and six others finished as undefeated winners during the 70th annual IHSAA Individual Wrestling State Finals at Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.


At 160 pounds, Howe jumped out to an early lead on Union County sophomore Michael Duckworth (41-4) and never looked back in a 22-9 victory completing a third straight undefeated season (46-0) and finishing his prep career a sparkling 192-1. It was his fourth straight appearance in a state championship match. He won the 152 crown last year at 48-0; finished 51-0 at 140 as a sophomore and 47-1 at 130 as a freshman. His only loss came in the 2005 state championship match.


Harper (45-0) held off Hobart sophomore Francisco Porras (41-4), 3-2, to win the 125 pound crown. Harper, who also will wrestle at next weekend’s team state finals with his Mishawaka teammates, won the 112 championship last year but suffered the only defeat of his career a week later in the team competition to finish 41-1. He was 49-0 as a freshman at 103 in 2006.


Both became the first three-time state champ in their school’s history.


Portage sophomore Sean McMurray (33-4) avoided a reversal in the closing seconds of the 135 pound match and held on for a 4-3 upset of Hobart senior Eric Galka (43-3). McMurray’s win spoiled Galka’s bid for a third championship in four years. McMurray had placed seventh in the 112 division last year.


Floyd Central senior Cooper Samuels and Perry Meridian senior Chico Adams both finished their prep careers with a second straight state title. Samuels finished 47-0 with a 7-0 victory over Northridge’s Drew Graber in the 171 final. Samuels was the 160 winner in 2007. Adams (53-0) got a takedown just before the second period buzzer and the defending 285 pound champ held on for another with his 3-2 victory over Winchester freshman Adam Chalfant.


Also finishing unbeaten were: Indian Creek freshman Ethan Raley (33-0) at 103; Hobart senior Brennan Cosgrove (43-0) at 145 pounds; New Palestine senior Kyle Ulrey (46-0) at 152 and; Leo senior Justin Woods (33-0) at 215.


Raley became the first Indian Creek wrestler to win a state championship with a 7-3 victory over Jay County’s Casey Kenney. It was Kenney’s first loss in 48 matches this season. Cosgrove had finished second each of the last two years but took a 13-5 decision from Anderson Highland’s Sammy Bennett. Ulrey got a takedown in the last 20 seconds to seal a 10-7 victory over Martinsville’s Briar Runyan. Woods pinned defending 215 pound champ George Malone in the semis and then defeated East Noble’s Derrick Shire in the final, 9-2.


The 112 pound final was a rematch from last season’s 103 championship won by Anderson Highland’s Camden Eppert. Indianapolis Cathedral’s Brandon Wright turned the tables this year, however, taking a 5-2 decision from Eppert to finish off his sophomore season 44-2.


Hobart’s three participants in the championship matches led all teams. Anderson Highland, Crown Point and Mishawaka had two representatives each.


This year’s two-day attendance drew 27,233 spectators.


70th Annual IHSAA Individual Wrestling State Finals

Feb. 15-16, 2008

Conseco Fieldhouse, Indianapolis

State Championship Match Results

103 – Ethan Raley, 9, Indian Creek (33-0) def. Casey Kenney, 11, Jay County (47-1), dec. 7-3.

112 – Brandon Wright, 10, Indianapolis Cathedral (44-2) def. Camden Eppert, 11, Anderson Highland (40-3), dec. 5-2.

119 – Christopher Quiroga, 11, Lawrence North (47-3) def. Alex Weinzapfel, 12, Evansville Mater Dei (22-2), dec. 12-6.

125 – Josh Harper, 11, Mishawaka (45-0) def. Francisco Porras, 10, Hobart (41-4), dec. 3-2.

130 – Tom Churchard, 12, Valparaiso (47-2) def. Eric Roach, 9, Crown Point (41-4), dec. 9-8.

135 – Sean McMurray, 10, Portage (33-4) def. Eric Galka, 12, Hobart (43-3), dec, 4-3.

140 – Steven Sandefer, 11, Mishawaka (43-2) def. Chris Mascaro, 12, Carmel (42-3), dec. 8-2.

145 – Brennan Cosgrove, 12, Hobart (43-0) def. Sammy Bennett, 10, Anderson Highland (39-5), dec. 13-5.

152 – Kyle Ulrey, 12, New Palestine (46-0) def. Briar Runyan, 11, Martinsville (38-2), dec. 10-7.

160 – Andrew Howe, 12, Hanover Central (46-0) def. Michael Duckworth, 10, Union County (41-4), dec. 22-9.

171 – Cooper Samuels, 12, Floyd Central (47-0) def. Drew Graber, 11, Northridge (39-4), dec. 7-0.

189 – Stephen Stahl, 12, Elkhart Memorial (29-4) def. Marcus Shrewsbury, 11, Crown Point (41-3), dec. 2-1.

215 – Justin Woods, 12, Leo (33-0) def. Derrick Shire, 12, East Noble (26-6), dec. 9-2.

285 – Chico Adams, 12, Perry Meridian (53-0) vs. Adam Chalfant, 9, Winchester (43-2), dec. 3-2.




Members of the IHSAA Executive Committee selected Eric Galka of Hobart High School as the winner of the 2007-08 Ward E. Brown Mental Attitude Award for wrestling.


He currently ranks twenty-third in his class of 264 students.  He is a member of Future Leaders of Amercia and the Varsity Letterman’s Club.  Eric has volunteered in his local community to help the food pantry and has also collected food to assist the animal hospital.  He is a member of the National Honor Society, twice selected as the most valuable wrestler, and was named Academic All-State in wrestling.


This season marks Eric’s fourth trip to the state finals.  As a freshman, Eric’s 47-0 season culminated in a state championship at 103 pounds.  He was a state qualifier as a sophomore and finished 48-0 his junior year with state championship at 130 pounds.


Eric becomes Hobart’s seventh mental attitude recipient but the first selected in a sport other than football.  He is the son of Mark and Marie Galka and plans to study engineering at Northwestern University next fall.


Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, the IHSAA corporate sponsor, presented a $1,000.00 scholarship to Hobart High School in the name of Eric Galka.




Visit our friends at Visual Sports Network, the IHSAA’s official photographer for all state championship events and one of the leading action photographers in the Midwest. VSN, which was on site on both Friday and Saturday, has captured thousands of images from this year’s State Finals and will have them ready for viewing and purchase beginning Monday.



For t-shirts and other merchandise commemorating this year’s tournament or for any of our events, visit our friends at Morris, Inc.



Couldn’t be there for the state finals? You can still purchase a copy of the official souvenir program while supplies last! Programs are $3.00 if you purchase in person at the IHSAA Office (9150 N. Meridian Street in Indianapolis) or $5.00 by mail (postage included). To order, have your Visa or MasterCard ready and call us at 317-846-6601 during business hours (Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-4 p.m. EST).