Page 5 - 2012-13 Football State Finals Program
P. 5

2012-13 IHSAA Board of Directors and

                              Executive Committee

         The IHSAA is governed by its legislative body, the Board of Directors. Composed of 19 individuals elected by member
         school principals from three legislative districts, they serve staggered three-year terms. Twelve board seats are filled by any
         qualified individual (open seats), and six board seats are filled by two qualified female representatives, two qualified minority
         representatives, two qualified urban school representatives and one private school representative. The Board of Directors
         meets annually with the responsibility of establishing the Association’s By-Laws and regulations.
         The Executive Committee meets monthly and is responsible for organizing and directing state tournaments and meets,
         interpreting the Association’s By-Laws, determining penalties for rules violations, and establishing the Association’s state
         office and employing a commissioner and staff to administer the Association.

         IHSAA Board of Directors                        IHSAA Executive Committee
         District, Seat   Board Member        Term Ends
         District I, Class A     Debb Stevens, Caston     June 2014  Nancy Alspaugh, Manchester (Chairwoman)
         District I, Class AA    Don Gandy, Wheeler    June 2015  Victor Bush, Indpls. Public Schools (Vice-Chairman)
         District I, Class AAA    Nathan Dean, Baugo Community Schools  June 2014  Mike Broughton, Jennings County
         District I, Class AAAA    Geoff Penrod, Columbia City   June 2015  Nathan Dean, Baugo Community Schools
         District II, Class A    Ken Howell, Blackford**    June 2015  Phillip Ford, Jay County
         District II, Class AA    Jimmie Howell, Lapel    June 2014  Don Gandy, Wheeler
         District II, Class AAA                          Tim Grove, South Knox School Corporation
         District II, Class AAAA    Phillip Ford, Jay County*   June 2014  Jimmie Howell, Lapel
         District III, Class A    Jed Jerrels, North Daviess    June 2014  Ken Howell, Blackford
         District III, Class AA    Tim Grove, South Knox School Corp.   June 2015  Jed Jerrels, North Daviess
         District III, Class AAA    Mike Whitten, Boonville    June 2014  Paul Neidig, Evansville Vanderburgh Schools
         District III, Class AAAA    Mike Broughton, Jennings County   June 2015  Geoff Penrod, Columbia City
         North District, Female    Nancy Alspaugh, Manchester    June 2013
         North District, Minority    Deborah Watson, Fort Wayne Snider   June 2013   Janis Qualizza, Merrillville
         North District, Urban    Janis Qualizza, Merrillville    June 2013  Debb Stevens, Caston
         South District, Female                          Deborah Watson, Fort Wayne Snider
         South District, Minority    Victor Bush, Indianapolis Public Schools   June 2013  Mike Whitten, Boonville
         South District, Urban    Paul Neidig, Evansville City Schools    June 2013
         Private School
         * President      ** Vice-President

                Roger Holder to be honored as State’s Top Official

             Roger Holder is the recipient of the 2012 Interscho-  assist in providing wholesome, worthwhile, and healthy
          lastic Athletic Official Association Award for excellence in   activities for the student-athletes in our state.  State-
          the sport of football.  Holder will be honored in a special   wide, there are more than 8,000 officials licensed by the
          ceremony at this weekend’s state finals.  IHSAA in 11 sports.
                             Each year, the Indiana High      A member of the Indiana Officials Association since
                        School Athletic Association, in   1972, Holder served as a board member, a rules chair-
                        cooperation with the National   man and the association president during his career.
                        Federation of Interscholastic   He has also been a licensed official in basketball
                        Officials Association, recognizes   and softball and has officiated numerous state finals
                        and honors an outstanding of-  contests in those sports as well as serving as a rules
                        ficial in each of 11 sports during   interpreter, clinician and rules chairman. Holder also
                        the school year.       coached the 1985 Warren Central softball state champi-
                             Holder has been a football   onship team.
                        official for 41 years.  During his      Holder, a 1967 graduate of Indianapolis Arsenal
                        career he has worked every   Technical High School, attended Ball State, earning
          level of the state tournament, including 31 sectionals, 10   bachelor’s, master’s and doctorate degrees in elemen-
          regionals, six semi-states and three state finals.  His last   tary education, educational administration and school
          state finals being in 2011.          superintendency.  Holder now serves as the Director of
             Holder was selected for this honor by a committee   New Member Assimilation and Parish Visitation for the
          representing the officials associations.  In Indiana there   New Palestine United Methodist Church. He resides in
          are 24 associations made up of men and women who   Greenfield with his wife of 41 years, Anita.

                               IHSAA - Pure Spirit.  Pure Sport.  PURE INDIANA!  5
   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10