Page 5 - 2022-23 Cross Country State Finals Program
P. 5

Welcome to this  2022-23 IHSAA Board of Directors and

 State Championship Event  Executive Committee

 The IHSAA State Finals are a time for celebration   The IHSAA is governed by its legislative body, the Board of Directors. Composed of 19 individuals elected by member
 and reflection. While we celebrate the triumphs and   school principals from three legislative districts, they serve staggered three-year terms. Ten board seats are filled by any
 achievements of the student-athletes competing today,   Special Thanks To Our Host  qualified individual (open seats), and seven board seats are filled by two qualified female representatives, two qualified
 we’re also able to reflect on the importance of   minority representatives, two qualified urban school representatives and one private school representative. The Board of
 welcoming our fans back and thanking them for their   Terre Haute North Vigo High School  Directors meets annually with the responsibility of establishing the Association’s By-Laws and regulations.
 Steve Joseph, Principal
 support.  Terre Haute Convention & Vistors Bureau
 The atmosphere fans   Dave Patterson, Executive Director  The Executive Committee meets monthly and is responsible for organizing and directing state tournaments and meets,
 bring to our State   Vigo County School Corporation  interpreting the Association’s By-Laws, determining penalties for rules violations, and establishing the Association’s state
 Championships   Dr. Robert Haworth, Superintendent  office and employing a commissioner and staff to administer the Association.
 transforms them from
 just another event into a   State Finals Personnel  IHSAA Board of Directors  IHSAA Executive Committee
 true celebration. A   Tournament Administrator  District, Seat   Board Member   Term Ends  Jeff Doyle, Barr-Reeve (Chairman)
 celebration of the   Brian Lewis, Assisstant Commissioner  District I, Class A   Tom Finicle, Southwood   June 2023  Jim Brown, Fishers (Vice-Chairman)
 passion and pageantry   District I, Class AA     Nathan Dean, Jimtown   June 2024  Stacy Adams, Valparaiso
     District I, Class AAA
                                          June 2023
 Hoosier high school   Assistant Tournament Administrator  District I, Class AAAA   Jeff Hamstra, Chesterton   June 2024  Tom Black, East Central
 sports are known for.   Ashley Ernstberger, Executive Assistant  Chris Conley, Delta
 Every fan of our high   Libby Chang, IHSAA Assistant  District II, Class A   Kye Denney, Wes-Del**   June 2024  Nathan Dean, Jimtown
 school sports      District II, Class AA     Chris Conley, Delta*   June 2023  Kye Denney, Wes-Del
     District II, Class AAA
                                          June 2024
 community—every   Tournament Director  District II, Class AAAA   Jim Brown, Fishers   June 2023  Kyle Duncan, Brownsburg
 student, coach, and bus   Kris Painter, Terre Haute North  Tom Finicle, Southwood
 driver, every parent,   District III, Class A   Jeff Doyle, Barr-Reeve   June 2023  Chad Gilbert, Charlestown
                   Tim Grove, South Knox School Corp.
                                          June 2024
     District III, Class AA
 sister, and   Assistant Tournament Director  District III, Class AAA   Mike Whitten, Boonville    June 2023  Tim Grove, South Knox School Corporation
 brother—contributes to this celebration whenever they   Ed Jarvis, Terre Haute South  District III, Class AAAA   Tom Black, East Central   June 2024  Jeff Hamstra, Chesterton
 attend a State Finals event. That’s because by   Kenny Pearson, West Vigo  Joe Herrmann, Evansville Mater Dei
 attending the State Finals and cheering for their   North District, Female   Patti McCormack, Lowell    June 2025  Patti McCormack, Lowell
     North District, Minority
                                          June 2025
                   Stacy Adams, Valparaiso
 school, fans are supporting and fostering so much   Official Scorer  North District, Urban   Brian Strong, Logansport    June 2025  Kris Painter, Terre Haute North Vigo
 more than great competition…  Mike Dason  South District, Female   Kris Painter, Terre Haute North Vigo   June 2025  Brian Strong, Logansport
     South District, Minority   Kyle Duncan, Brownsburg   June 2025  Mike Whitten, Boonville
 They’re supporting exactly what makes high school   Referees/Starters  South District, Urban   Chad Gilbert, Charlestown    June 2025
 sports different. For over 100 years, the IHSAA has   Daniel Cummins, Edward Stuffle
 focused on keeping education in front of athletics by   Private School Rep.   Joe Herrmann, Evansville Mater Dei   June 2025
 providing an arena for our state’s 160,000 student-  Assistant Starters  * President      ** Vice-President
 athletes to learn essential life lessons. Lessons in   John Yantiss, Tom Simpson
 teamwork, perseverance, and humility. Lessons that
 will translate to their careers as they transition into   100 M Recall
 adulthood. Lessons that will benefit and define the   Michael Alspaugh, Rodney King
 communities they lead once their playing days are
 over.    Athletic Training Staff
 Fortè Sports Medicine and Orthopedics
 So, on behalf of the 407 IHSAA member-schools, our
 board of directors, and all our student-athletes   Program Credits
 participating in this weekend’s championship event,   Publisher: Paul Neidig, Commissioner
 thank you for being with us to celebrate today.   Editor: Brandon Baxter, Communications Assistant
 Thank you for supporting education-based athletics in   Printing: Sport Graphics, Indianapolis
 Photography: Double Edge Media
 Indiana. As you enjoy today’s State Finals competition,   Cover Design: 360 Group, Indianapolis
 remember that this is pure spirit. This is pure sport.
 This is your IHSAA.
 9150 N Meridian St.
 Sincerely,  Indianapolis, IN 46260
 For state tournament results and latest Indiana high
 school sports information, visit the IHSAA website at
 Paul Neidig
 IHSAA Commissioner  @ihsaa1
 IHSAA - Pure Spirit.  Pure Sport.  Pure INDIANA!  IHSAA - Pure Spirit.  Pure Sport.  Pure INDIANA!
   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10